ICARP IV Summit - Hosts

Following an invitation from the U.S. Polar Research Board at the National Academies the IASC Council voted to approve Boulder, Colorado (USA) as the host of ICARP IV Summit, to be held concurrently with Arctic Science Summit Week (ASSW) 2025 from 20 - 28 March 2025. The Conference Host Committee is committed to providing an outstanding venue for sharing scientific achievements, advancing collaboration, and planning for the future of Arctic research. The University of Colorado Boulder (UCB) and the city of Boulder are home to an active and longstanding hub for Arctic research, hosting multiple world-renowned organizations, including the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES), National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC), Institute for Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR), National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), University Consortium for Atmospheric Research (UCAR), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)’s David Skaggs Research Center, and others. These organizations, together with key partners from across a range the U.S. universities, organizations, and Indigenous and Tribal partners, will provide a deep and diverse source of expertise for hosting a conference that is uniquely tailored to the needs and interests of ICARP participants.

Boulder, scenically located at the foothills of the Rocky Mountains while also approximately 60 km from Denver International Airport, will be an excellent spring meeting location for participants from around the world. However, the Conference Host Committee will also focus on minimizing the carbon footprint of the conference. They will remain responsive to recommendations from IASC, in particular from IASC’s Action Group on Carbon Footprint (AGCF) and will consult emerging best practices for developing a hybrid conference structure that will allow for both in-person and virtual participation. Additionally, they plan to explore the use of satellite conference hub locations, which may both minimize long-distance international travel and provide innovative ways for Arctic residents to participate from multiple Arctic satellite locations.

ICARP IV Summit 

The ICARP IV Summit is the summative event of the Fourth International Conference on Arctic Research Planning (ICARP IV) process, which is a multi-year effort that began in 2022 to engage the international community on critical topics and priorities for Arctic research in the next 10 years that cut across disciplines and knowledge systems, and that require new and innovative thinking and collaboration. The Summit will engage Arctic researchers, Indigenous Peoples, policymakers, and other interested parties from around the world, serving as a crucial milestone for shaping the Fifth International Polar Year in 2032–33.

The ICARP IV Summit will provide an opportunity to discuss and consult on the initial outcomes of the seven ICARP IV Research Priority Teams:

  • The Role of the Arctic in the Global System
  • Observing, Reconstructing, and Predicting Future Climate Dynamics and Ecosystem Responses
  • Understanding the Vulnerability and Resilience of Arctic Environments and Societies and Supporting Sustainable Development
  • Arctic Research Cooperation and Diplomacy
  • Co-Production and Indigenous-led Methodologies
  • Preparing Present and Future generations through Education, Outreach, Communication, Capacity Building, and Networking
  • Technology, Infrastructure, Logistics, and Services

The Summit will also invite further sessions on important research questions and priorities for Arctic research that should be considered in the ICARP IV process.

Following the ICARP IV Summit, the ICARP IV International Steering Committee during 2025-2026 will oversee the development of the final outcomes of the ICARP IV process along with a vision for implementation.  

Access the ASSW 2025 / ICARP IV Summit Website


University of Colorado Boulder
National Academies
University of Northern Iowa
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Alaska Pacific University

Designed & Hosted by Arctic Portal